Finish this sentence. Life is…

Hey Engineer,

Have you ever thought about how the language we use plays a huge role in how are lives unfold?

I was out for dinner with a friend from school who also runs an agency.

He shared something that really struck a chord.

He asked me ‘What’s the first word that comes to mind when I say “Life is…”’

My response: Tough.

It really made me think about the narratives we tell ourselves and the impact we have on our lives. Maybe the story I’m telling myself about life isn’t as good as it could be. If I perceive life to be tough, I’m likely to assign the label of ‘tough’ to challenges, rather than ‘easy’. Wouldn’t it be better if challenges were easy to overcome? Certainly less stressful.

If he’d asked me about something else, like winning clients, I might have said ‘easy’ or ‘light work’. I see new business that way because I have a system for generating. But my system also works, because I have a positive narrative around it.

And this is the thing with ‘influence’ ‘authority and ‘personal brand’. To become one of those truly magnetic people that wins clients with ease and dominates their industry, you have to see yourself as influential, authoritative, magnetic. You have to view conversations as ‘easy’. You have to perceive life to be abundant.

We’re quick to blame the system, the plan or the action in our lives.

But what if it’s the labels we associate with these things holding us back?

Got thoughts? I’d love to hear them - just hit reply.

Sam